Sunday, December 15, 2013

Love and Respect in the Family by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs


I was very eager to read this book and it did not disappoint. I'm a big fan of Love & Respect, and the ideas of parents desiring respect and kids needing love really resonated with me.

Dr. Eggerichs divides this book into three parts: 1) the family crazy cycle, 2) the family energizing cycle and 3) the family rewarded cycle. With personal stories, confessions and suggestions, he defines each of these cycles and gives solid advice on how to parent using the love and respect model.

In the second section of the book, the family energizing cycle, Dr. Eggerichs outlines specific areas to work on using the acronym GUIDES. These include Give, Understand, Instruct, Discipline, Encourage and Supplicate. Not only does he write extensively about each, he comes back to these ideas over and over with new insight. I found this the most helpful part of the book and am sure I'll come back to it over and over.

This is by far one of my favorite parenting books (and I've read a lot of parenting books!). Just as I've seen value in applying the love and respect model in my marriage, I am excited to see it's influence in my parenting as well.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.


Thursday, November 7, 2013

The Beauty of Broken by Elisa Morgan


I love knowing I'm not alone when it comes to thinking I'm broken - that my family's broken. I love it when people of influence are honest with the rest of us and show us their brokenness. I don't love that they are broken...I just love knowing that brokenness is common.

In this book, former CEO of MOPS International Elisa Morgan, share her story of brokenness with us. She shares how her first family was broken and how she determined to keep her second family from brokenness. She didn't succeed. Both of her adopted children made decisions out of her control.

This book covers so many things that most of us would like to keep out of our lives.

Alcoholism, drug addiction, infertility, adoption, teen pregnancy, abortion, divorce, homosexuality and death.

Yet, despite our best attempts to keep these things at bay, people make choices and we are faced with situations we never dreamed would be part of our lives.

The overall message of this book is that God uses our brokenness to reshape us and mold us into who He wants us to be. There is beauty in the broken.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Tuesday, August 13, 2013

So Long, Insecurity (teen edition) by Beth Moore

In this teen edition of her best-selling book So Long, Insecurity, Beth Moore answers questions and addresses issues that plague our teen girls. The book is set up in the same way as a magazine layout and is full of great photos and a lot of Biblical wisdom.  

There are 8 chapters, each covering a different topic. The topics include fashion, media hype, boys, popularity, competition and more. It is also full of Scripture that will encourage and nourish teen girls who are looking for security.

As the mother of two daughters, I know this book will be a great resource for us through the teen years. I remember the struggle I went through with these very issues when I was a teen and am thrilled to have this resource for my own parenting journey.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for this review.


Sunday, August 4, 2013

All In by Mark Batterson


With a message similar to that of Crazy Love by Francis Chan or Radical by David Platt, Mark Batterson presents an invitation for Christians to live differently....to go all in for Christ. Most North American Christians are living comfortable lives and have made Christianity into something it was never meant to be. In his new book, All In, Mark Batterson challenges us to give Jesus our all - not just pick and choose the parts of Christianity that are comfortable.

I have not read any of Mark Batterson's other books so I can't compare his writing in this one to any others. I think this is a really good book with a really important message, but it's not the only book out there that's calling Christians into deeper commitment. The message of All In was not new to me and that's why I wasn't overly excited about this book. 



I received this book free form the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Hunt for the Devil's Dragon by Marianne Hering

I let my 8 year old, dragon-loving daughter read and review this one....

This is an exciting story about two cousins, Patrick and Beth, who travel back in time to see a dragon. The dragon is accused of eating the village's animals and it's thought that if a human (maiden) sacrifice is made, the animal killings will stop. What the people don't know is that there is actually a saber-tooth cat that is killing the animals.

I enjoyed this book. It was a quick, easy read and the story was engaging.

We received a free copy of this book from Tyndale in exchange for our honest review.

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Desperate ~ Hope for the Mom Who Needs to Breathe


If you are a mom, you need this book. It doesn't matter what stage of motherhood you are currently in, this book has something for everyone.

Written by Sarah Mae, mother to three young kids, and Sally Clarkson, mother to four adult kids, this book offers perspective on so many areas of motherhood. Each chapter begins with a question from Sarah Mae - a plea for help from a young, desperate mom. And Sally responds with so much wisdom and encouragement. Then both take turns address the subject at hand in each chapter.

One of the things I loved about this book is the link to small videos where Sarah Mae and Sally discuss the chapter even further. It's fun to hear them talk and to watch them interact.

With my own girls nearing the middle years, I was encouraged by this book to reach out to mothers who are just starting out and who have little ones. I get plenty of sleep now, and I have the housework under control.... I don't need to reach out with advice, but with practical help. I can take a meal and clean a house. I can give a desperate mom a break and a chance to breathe (which is what she really needs!).

I love this book, and although I wish I had it 8 years ago when I began my parenting journey, I appreciate the timing of its presence in my life.


I received this book free form the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Beyond Ordinary


In their new book Beyond Ordinary, Justin and Trisha Davis of RefineUs ministries dig deep and share how their ordinary marriage fell into ordinary patterns and almost ended in divorce. Thankfully God had other plans for them and is now using their story to inspire and encourage other couples to move beyond ordinary.

This past summer I was involved in a marriage seminar for women at my church. Several women didn't attend because they claimed to have a good marriage. But I don't want a good marriage. I don't want an ordinary marriage. I want my marriage to be amazing and extraordinary. I think every married couple has room for improvement when it comes to their marriage.

Do you want move beyond ordinary in your marriage? I know I do, and this book is a great encouragement. God can take your ordinary marriage and transform it into some thing extraordinary. This is what he did for Justin and Trisha, and you'll read all about their journey in a he says, she says format.

I really wanted to embed the trailer video, but couldn't get it to work. It's worth checking out and you can do so right HERE.

I really enjoyed this book, and even though I feel like I have an extraordinary marriage, Justin and Trisha's story reminded me that I need to be vigilant when it comes to guarding my marriage and persistent in asking God to keep it extraordinary.

I received this book free from Tyndale in exchange for an honest review.